The second week

Cherry Tree week 2

Week 2 of my Cherry Tree photograph project. The blossom season for our cherry tree is such a fleeting moment of the year, it is sad when the delicate pink petals float silently from the branches as the fingers of the newly formed leaves jostle their declining hold on life.

The gentlest of breezes sees the blossom  tumble in communion. The green carpet of grass below transforms into a mottled pink canvas underfoot as if a bride and groom had walked from their recent ceremonial union and the gathering had showered them with confetti.

Another Saturday morning and I have a moment alone at my sunny desk to record the passing year and my passing time for the second week into this project. As I write I wonder what the year will bring to us as a family and the world. Today is St George’s Day, as I grapple with the meaning of this and I watch my reaction to the comments on social media and to the various community events taking place.

Praise the spells and bless the charms,
I found April in my arms.
April golden, April cloudy,
Gracious, cruel, tender, rowdy;
April soft in flowered languor,
April cold with sudden anger,
Ever changing, ever true —
I love April, I love you.

Ogden Nash

Leave a comment